What i have learned (and what every farmer should know) part 1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What i have learned (and what every farmer should know) part 1

I know that the subject of fertilizer spreading is not one that too many people invest a lot of time thinking about. But I have been operating a fertilizer spreader for going on six years now and I have stumbled on some things that I don’t believe anyone really realizes. By anyone I’m not just talking about growers but the fertilizer industry as a whole. I feel justified in saying this because everything I am about to tell you I have had to come up with on my own. If what I am about to say is being utilized other places why hasn’t it trickled down to places like here? Why wouldn’t it be common knowledge within the fertilizer industry as a whole? If someone out there reads this and can say definitively that they know about and utilize this process which I am about to detail I would love to hear from them.

I want to make it clear that I am talking about granulated fertilizer. The machine I operate is a Case-IH floater with an 810 Air-Box spreader. However the method of delivery is not of great importance; it’s the process by which it is delivered. Even a pull-behind spinner spreader can be accurate if done properly.