+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Junior Member Chief Chef is on a distinguished road

How should I get into farming/agriculture and should I pursue it?..future economy

Hi everyone! I'm new to this forum, but have been perusing through AgWeb for awhile now. It's been about 2 years since I graduated from college with a Bachelor's degree in Finance. However, I have not yet entered the Finance field and have just been working for family. After much research, I've decided that I would like to pursue the Agricultural field preferably as a farmer rather than sit behind a desk/computer analyzing graphs and numbers in an investment firm. Personally, I think the "farming lifestyle" and business aspects would be fun and suitable for me. With this being said, I have a few questions that perhaps the experienced farmers or people in the agricultural industry on this forum can answer and provide any suggestions or advice.

1) Given that I have a Bachelor's in Finance, what's the best route that you'd suggest I take to get into the Agricultural industry? I was thinking about going back to school for an Agricultural Science degree, but that costs more money plus I don't really want to spend another 2-4yrs or so.

-Instead, should I just try to find a farm that specializes in whatever crop/animal that I would like to do in the future and be an apprentice? Should I try to cut a deal with them by working for free in exchange for knowledge and farming experience? What about a farm school? Any other ideas/suggestions?

2) With the rising populations and food shortages, which would evidently drive the prices up, what is your outlook on the Agricultural industry? Is it a field that you see will be viable in the future? In the U.S.? Should I look for other opportunities around the world such as Asia (China, Vietnam, Thailand, etc) or Australia or South America?