+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
    Junior Member jenjen1 is on a distinguished road

Who do i contact to Buy 40 Acres of Farmland in Iowa (Northern, N-W or N-E)

Hi -

I'm very new to farmland investing but I would like to find about 40 acres in Iowa to purchase. I'm looking at the Northern area, N-W area mostly.

My question, Is finding such a small amount of acreage possible, i notice most auctions are for over 100 acres. How can i go about finding such as small amount of property available? Are there other smaller investors that go in together to purchase these larger acres ?

Who do i contact? I contacted Hertz but they mostly have larger parcels of land and i'm just a small investor so i'm not sure they can find anything for me. Any advice from experienced people? I'm very new at farmland real estate. Any help greatly appreciated.

- Thanks, Jenny

Senior Member davidm479 is on a distinguished road
    better stick with what you know this farm land deal is fast approaching top a person could get his knob skined good right now but then agian they don"t make any more fam ground check all realters in to area is best bet and watch local papers good luck----------------------dave

Moderator ses is on a distinguished road ses's Avatar
    There are areas that beat Iowa all to crap if you're looking for ROI. Western Kansas irrigated land at $6,000 - $7,000 beats anything Iowa has to offer by a wide margin.

Senior Member NE sandhiller is on a distinguished road NE sandhiller's Avatar
    Right now its a seller's market.

Sometimes @ auctions they will offer smaller parcels. But then all the smaller parcels are offered all together @ a slightly higher price than all of the smaller parcels.

Bottom line - you are going to have to get together with somebody else (or multiple somebody elses) who wants to own farmland and buy together.

Good luck.

Senior Member jabber1 is on a distinguished road
    Quote Originally Posted by jenjen1 View Post