AgWeb Farm Journal Legacy Project Top Producer Dairy Today Beef Today Pro Farmer Ag Day TV US Farm Report MyMachinery.com Ultimate Farm Quest
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Junior Member HuskerCM is on a distinguished road

Advise on becoming a seed dealer

Thanks for looking. I need some advise on how to become a seed dealer. Long story short,I came on board with on my inlaws farm january of this year. I've been helping out for the last five years but not full time. In order to justify me on the farm I need to find something extra for me to do. I come from sales back ground so selling seed sounds like a good fit.

I have spoke with all the major brands or players. Have narrowed it down to Syngenta and Monsanto (channel). any advise? Which company should I go with? What do I need to consider? What questions do I need to be asking? What equipment will I need starting out? should I jump into seed treatment? If so which brand?

This is my first venture on my own and want to avoid any major mistakes. Any advise or experience would be greatly appreciated.

HuskerCM

Senior Member wctyilfarmer is on a distinguished road wctyilfarmer's Avatar
    good news travels fast, bad news travels faster. don't forget to get some of db's superlube, maybe he'll repost his ad.

Senior Member PERCY is on a distinguished road
    Boy oh boy, HUSKER, seems to me that you're asking way too many ?'s to be in an advisory position. I have a very low opinion of a salesman, til he prooves himself to me. You can't buy that, you have to earn it, and that takes time, as well as a few mistakes!!! I suppose you were a Mahindra salesman prior to this???LOL

Senior Member Peeler GTFB is on a distinguished road
    I would go with Channel seems like they do a good job of training their dealers and have a good product to sell.

Syngenta seems to carry to much baggage putting out seed before it is approved and stuff like that.

Senior Member roger7 is on a distinguished road